• by James Joyce
  • Narrated by T. P. McKenna
  • 7 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

James Augustine Aloysius Joyce was born in 1882 in Dublin but spent most of his life living with Nora Barnacle in various parts of Europe. Apart from a collection of verse, Dubliners was his first published work in 1914. In Dubliners, Joyce portrays quite brilliantly human relationships in Ireland at the turn of the century. His characters are so vital and exciting and the stories so fresh, evocative, and entertaining that they could well have been written today.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

not the right order

I very much appreciated everything about this version of Dubliners except for one thing - the stories are not in the correct order. Joyce detailed the order for the stories in his letters and every version I have seen uses that order - it has a significance in terms of coming of age. But this version uses some other method - and it's not order of composition -although it may be the order of magazine publication - I don't know. I'd be curious to know why CSA (or whomever) did this. Other than that I was delighted with McKenna's rendition and if this ordering doesn't bother you, I recommend it.

Read full review

- Rebecca Lindroos

Best Reading, Format Cumbersome

I agree mostly with what has been written so far. This is the best reading, but does not preserve the intended order. Also frustrating, is that the titles of the stories come at the end of the preceding chapters, rather than at the top of the actual chapters, so navigating to the correct order is even more difficult. I assembled this list for myself, and so thought I would share it:
(1) 5 The Sisters,
(2) 9 An Encounter,
(3) 3 Araby,
(4) 8 Eveline,
(5) 6 After the Race,
(6) 10 Two Gallants,
(7) 4 The Boarding House,
(8) 11 A Little Cloud,
(9) 14 Counterparts,
(10) 15 Clay.
(11) 1 A Painful Case,
(12) 12 Ivy Day in the Committee Room,
(13) 13 A Mother,
(14) 2 Grace,
(15) 7 The Dead,

Read full review

- Ryan G Benhard

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-13-2005
  • Publisher: CSA Word