• by James Joyce
  • Narrated by Jim Killavey
  • 6 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This collection of 15 stories was first published in 1914. James wrote them as descriptions of middle-class life in Ireland, but in each story one or more characters has an "epiphany," - a moment where the character has a speical moment of illumination. Many of the characters in these stories later appear in his novel, Ulysses. The stories included are "The Sisters," "An Encounter," "Araby", "Eveline", "After the Race", "Two Gallants", "The Boarding House", "A Little Cloud", "Counterparts", "Clay", "A Painful Case", "A Day in the Committee Room", "A Mother", "Grace", and "The Dead".


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Wonderful stories. Narrator "lapses" into American pronunciations once in a while but overall reading is very good.
Read full review

- Edward

Great book, poor narration

These stories are so well written, but I found the narration so monotonous it was distracting. I am redeeming another credit to find a narration that can do the stories justice.
Read full review

- MayaB

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-03-2009
  • Publisher: Jimcin Recordings