Regular price: $44.80

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $44.80

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In June 1917, W. S. Maugham was asked by the British Secret Intelligence Service, to undertake a special mission in Russia to support Kerensky's government. The mission failed, and two and a half months later, the Bolsheviks took control. Maugham subsequently said that if he had been able to get there six months earlier, he might have succeeded. Quiet and observant, Maugham had a good temperament for intelligence work. The writer used his spying experiences as the basis for his collection of short stories called Ashenden: Or the British Agent. They became the prototype for the modern espionage novel involving a gentlemanly, sophisticated, aloof spy. In volume two of this series, we present the Ashenden stories along with 15 others whose subjects range from South Pacific drama among British colonialists, to Caribbean prison colonies of the French Empire, and the hot tempered Latin stories of South and Central America…masterpieces all.
The stories in volume two are:

1. "Miss King" (Ashenden)
2. "The Hairless Mexican" (Ashenden)
3. "Giulia Lazzari" (Ashenden)
4. "The Traitor" (Ashenden)
5. "His Excellency" (Ashenden)
6. "Mr. Harrington's Washing" (Ashenden)
7. "Footprints in the Jungle"
8. "The Human Element"
9. "Virtue"
10. "The Alien Corn"
11. "The Book Bag"
12. "The Vessel of Wrath"
13. "The Door of Opportunity"
14. "The Back of Beyond"
15. "Neil McAdam"
16. "A Woman of Fifty"
17. "The Man With the Scar"
18. "The Bum"
19. "The Closed Shop"
20. "An Official Position"
21. "A Man with a Conscience"
The Complete Short Stories of W. S. Maugham will continue in volume three.
All stories not in public domain are the property of and published by agreement with the W. Somerset Maugham Royalty Trust.
(P)2013 Audio Connoisseur
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By William E. Hendry on 05-26-16

Entirely great

What does Charlton Griffin bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Griffins clear, concise, dramatic voice is the reason I chose this book.I cannot read with the same clarity as he can read, and his tone is done so effortlessly.

Any additional comments?

I am now ordering V - 1.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc