Regular price: $46.60

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $46.60

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This magisterial collection of short works by Nobel Prize-winning author William Faulkner reminds listeners of his ability to compress his epic vision into narratives as hard and wounding as bullets. Among the 42 selections in this audiobook are such classics as "A Bear Hunt", "A Rose for Emily", "Two Soldiers", and "The Brooch".
©1976 Jill Faulkner Summers (P)2005 Random House, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By chris on 02-05-10


Faulkner is one of those writers I could never get into, but always felt I 'should' like because of wide acclaim. Felt this way about Hemingway for many years until I was at an age where I could appreciate the weight of the work. I am age 31 and, though I can't grapple with Faulner's novels yet, found the short stories quite amazing and much different than what I expected (having read portions of some of his novels). This book costs two credits, but I think it's worth it because the narration by three different readers is perfect. The stories, "Black Music," and "The Tall Men," and a "Rose for Emily" are alone worth the price of this audio. Without exaggerating, I can tell you I've listened to "The Tall Men," at least six times. One day I hope to be able to read an entire Faulkner novel, but for now the short stories are great and very readable (listenable)

Read More Hide me

17 of 18 people found this review helpful

By I. Aleksandrov on 12-27-08

A nice way to get the feeling of Faulkner

I really liked the narration, different people make the stories sound more lively. Also, i have tried to read/listen to Faulkners novels and could quite pick my way through the. The short stories are a nice compromise, maybe now that I am used to his manner, i will be able to enjoy the longer genre.

Thank you very much Audible!

Read More Hide me

15 of 16 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By DT on 03-07-16

“Already fled without moving”

What did you like most about Collected Stories of William Faulkner?

Its variety across Faulkner's many styles and genres.

What did you like best about this story?

See below.

What about the narrators’s performance did you like?

There were a number of narrators and they each caught the variety in Faulkner's writing.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?


Any additional comments?

An apparently casual observation (because it is hardly a sentence) from “Elly” (1934) catches something of how Faulkner writes. Elly, in bed with one of her many lovers, without any relationships apparently being “consummated”, describes herself as “already fled without moving” (“Elly”, 1934). Or at least this is probably typical of how Faulkner has his characters inhabit a present which is never only the present, though the past is more likely to figure in a character’s present than the future. Yet, Faulkner writes in many styles and even genres in this collection of forty or so stories. "A Rose for Emily" (1930) is both Southern gothic and sociology of a Southern town, albeit at the very edges of everyday life. "Centaur" (1932) shows Faulkner conveying a very un-aristocratic South in this episode in the rise of a member of the Snopes family. And then there is the truly shocking story of race in the South, "Dry September" (1931), which is told in a resigned, un-melodramatic way, at the other end of the spectrum from the gothic, in spite of its core of terror. Faulkner moves easily from the high rhetoric of "Centaur" to Hemingway-like hard-boiled in "Death Drag (1932).

While I prefer Faulkner’s greatest novels to his greatest short stories – and this collection includes all of those – his stories read like parts of something on-going, while a novel like “Go Down Moses” gains from the discontinuities that occur when something seems to end.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc