Collected Fictions

  • by Jorge Luis Borges, Andrew Hurley (translator)
  • Narrated by George Guidall
  • 5 hrs and 17 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Jorge Luis Borges has been called the greatest Spanish-language writer of our century. A selection of Borges' dazzling fictions are gathered in this audiobook, brilliantly translated by Andrew Hurley. These enigmatic, elaborate, imaginative inventions display Borges' talent for turning fiction on its head by playing with form and genre and toying with language. Together these incomparable works comprise the perfect compendium for all those who have long loved Borges, and a superb introduction to the master's work for those who have yet to discover this singular genius.
Selections include: "Borges and I", "The Garden of Forking Paths", "Man on Pink Corner", "The Library of Babel", "Death and the Compass", "The Lottery in Babylon", "The Maker", "The Zahir", "The Encounter", "The Circular Ruins", "Shakespeare's Memory", "August 25, 1983", "The Immortal", "Parable of Cervantes and the Quixote", "The Story from Rosendo Juarez", "The Aleph", and "Dreamtigers".
Please note: This audio edition includes selections from the paperback edition. The stories included are unabridged.


What the Critics Say

"A Borges invention can start anywhere, hint at unlikely sources, and proceed by pseudo-banal routes to unprecedented goals; it always takes the reader on a roller-coaster ride into some previously unsuspected dimension. This collection of the great magician's work is a new translation and includes one piece never before put into English." (The Atlantic Monthly)
"This...collection of the complete imaginings of the Argentine an event, and cause for celebration." (The New York Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Highlights of Collected Fictions = Uncollected

So frustrated by this purchase. I bought this, thinking I was getting the full AMAZING book, and realized shortly after ... NOPE. Return to Sender.
Read full review

- Darwin8u

Not "Unabridged."

Is there anything you would change about this book?

Labelling this

Any additional comments?

Disappointing short shrift to a great short story collection.

Read full review

- Stuart

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-24-2010
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio