• by Anton Chekhov
  • Narrated by Ralph Cosham
  • 4 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

With amazing insight, Anton Chekhov wrote of the lives of the Russian common man as well as the landowner. He established the style of the modern short story and influenced many great writers, including George Bernard Shaw, James Joyce, Ernest Hemingway, Katherine Mansfield, and Virginia Woolf. Presented here are eleven of Chekhov's best works. In "The Black Monk", a man blissfully chats with the vision of a wise, mysterious monk, and in "The Kiss", an awkward young soldier is kissed by mistake. The remaining nine stories ("A Misfortune", "An Artist's Story", "Not Wanted", "Expensive Lessons", "The Head of the Family", "Mire", "Anyuta", "The Helpmate", and "The Trousseau") are equally enchanting.


What the Critics Say

"What's within is pure gold." (Library Journal)
"The clear, compelling narratives are master-pieces of literature." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Suble is the byword

The subtle and straigtforward writing of Checkov did much to influence American, English and Russian writers of the first half of the 20th century. His influence was in many ways comparable to that of Mark Twain and Turgenev in developing the then new realistic style. The style is simple. The subjects are plain, ordinary peasants. But somehow Chekov still manages to bring his characters to life and tell an interesting story. These 11 stories are excellent examples of his work. Good narration.
Read full review

- JerryT

A nice selection but not the best narration.

This is a nice selection of stories my Chekhov. I got it mainly because it contains my favorite story of his - The Black Monk. Unfortunately the narration is not the best. The pacing is a bit jerky and his pronunciation of Russian words and propper names sometimes incorrect. It's not horrible, but it could have been done better and detracts from the overall value of the audio book...
Read full review

- Levi

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-06-2004
  • Publisher: Findaway World