Canterville Ghost

  • by Oscar Wilde
  • Narrated by Rupert Degas
  • 1 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a story from the Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories collection.
A palmist's prediction leads to murder; an enigmatic woman's lifestyle is a mystery to be solved; a ghost tries to frighten the new tenants of his home; a man has discovered the dedicatee of Shakespeare's Sonnets; a millionaire wants to be painted as a pauper. Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories is a collection of fascinating short stories that are subversive as well as entertaining. Also included in this audiobook is 'The Birthday of the Infanta from A House of Pomegranates', in which an ugly dwarf loves a beautiful princess. How will his feelings fare in a cruel society?


Audible Editor Reviews

Showing off an uncanny ability to glide between American and British accents along with exhibiting impeccable comedic timing, Rupert Degas turns in an adroit, whip-smart performance of lionized Irish writer and libertine Oscar Wilde’s first published story, which, along with flipping the traditional horror story on its head, drips with the wit and humor that defines his body of work in its depiction of an American family’s experiences with the unwelcoming ghost who resides at their newly purchased English country house and his futile attempts to terrorize them away from his abode and back across the pond.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Lovely, creepy, quick easy listen

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

The narrator was incredible. He makes you scared in a fun way.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Canterville Ghost?

This is a great book to pop on as you're going to bed. Open your window, feel the fresh air, tuck in and enjoy. It's funny and spooky!

What about Rupert Degas’s performance did you like?

Everything. If there was a perfect performance on an audiobook, this would be it.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?


Any additional comments?


Read full review

- Christina

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-02-2013
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks