Barchester Towers : Chronicles of Barsetshire

  • by Anthony Trollope
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • Series: Chronicles of Barsetshire
  • 18 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This magnificent novel, sequel to The Warden and second in the Chronicles of Barsetshire, satirizes the struggle for ascendancy among the clergy of a cathedral city. The contest is between the outgoing church authorities led by Archdeacon Grantly and the newcomers led by Mrs. Proudie and her protégé, the ambitious Mr. Obadiah Slope. Each wishes to become the dominant voice in the quiet diocese of Barchester, and they contend for the newly vacant post of warden of Hiram's Hospital.The truth is that Barchester's leadership is really concerned with social rather than spiritual or moral issues. These intrigues, entwined through the lives of many memorable characters, provide a humorous backdrop for exploring the clash between the old and new ways in Victorian England.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Decided to read this book to fulfill my pledge to myself to read some classic literature. It very quickly turned into one of the most entertaining of the books I have read. Aside from all the Victorian nonsense, the story is quite humerus at the expense of the Anglican Church hierarchy. But perhaps the best part of the recording was the reader, Simon Vance. His interpretation was so well done, that at times I thought I was watching a movie.
Read full review

- Marv Klinger

Give Trollope a try

In the hope that someone might be looking here at Trollope's most famous title, I just want to put out a general plug for his novels (especially all six of the Barsetshire series.) They are very mature, intelligent reads -- truly books for grown ups. And Simon Vance (who, like many narrators, has a couple of names) is just about everyone's favorite interpreter of 19th C. English fiction. Start with "The Warden", then you will enjoy "Barchester Towers" even more. Happy listening!
Read full review

- Joseph

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-25-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.