Regular price: $20.29

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.29

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial Reviews

You don't have to be a classical scholar to appreciate this intense and atmospheric dramatization of Virgil's famous Aeneid, the story of how Aeneas, fleeing his home city of Troy, eventually, after many trials and tribulations, makes it to Italy, where he becomes the father of the Roman race.
Actors Paul Schofield, Jill Balcon, Toby Stephens, Geraldine Fitzgerald, John McAndrew, and Stephen Thorne provide stirring performances, each capturing in his or her own way the timeless lyricism of this unforgettable epic, accentuating both the emotional and metric rhythms of this enthralling text. This ensemble cast truly does justice to Virgil's elegant and affecting prose, rendering it accessible to even the least poetically inclined listener.
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

Virgil's Aeneid, one of the greatest classical poems, tells the story of Aeneas, son of Anchises, after the fall of Troy. His quest is to find the site "in the west" where he will found a new town prophesied to be the seat of a world empire: Rome.
This great poem, in a modern translation by Cecil Day Lewis, is superbly read by the great classical actor Paul Scofield, with Jill Balcon.
Featuring classical music.
(P)2002 Naxos Rights International
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Madeleine on 05-17-08

Great but Abridged

This is really worth owning. The readers/voice actors are excellent. However, the publisher's note needs to specify that it is abridged.

Read More Hide me

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Lady Leatherneck on 11-13-16


I have always struggled with Greek and =oman literature/ hisyory. I love the performance as you really feel as if your are there watching this epic story unfold. It has amazed me at how the ancient gods mottled in the lives of its worshipers. Not matter what they still continue on believing that a great thread of fate weave them all together! Superb performance and book!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc