Reframing Academic Leadership

  • by Lee G. Bolman, Joan V. Gallos
  • Narrated by Kris Koscheski
  • 7 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Colleges and universities constitute a special type of organization; and their complex mission, dynamics, personnel structures, and values require a distinct set of understandings and skills to lead and manage them well.
In Reframing Academic Leadership, Lee G. Bolman and Joan V. Gallos offer higher education leaders a provocative and pragmatic guide for:


Crafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater than the sum of the parts.
Creating campus environments that facilitate creativity and commitment
Forging alliances and partnerships in service of the mission
Building shared vision and campus cultures that unite and inspire
Serving the larger goals of the academy and society
Throughout the book, the authors integrate powerful conceptual frameworks with rich and compelling real-world cases to support academic leaders searching for the best in themselves and in their institutions. The book tackles thorny issues such as building institutional clarity and capacity, managing conflict, coping with difficult people, partnering with the boss, and developing leadership resilience.
Following in the tradition of Bolman and Deals classic Reframing Organizations, Bolman and Gallos emphasize a pragmatic approach. They tease out the unique challenges and opportunities in academic leadership and provide ideas, tools, and encouragement to help higher education leaders see more clearly, feel more confident, and become more skilled and versatile in handling the vicissitudes of daily life. Reframing Academic Leadership is the resource for those seeking to understand, develop, and manage colleges and universities.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Helpful book for academic leadership

What did you love best about Reframing Academic Leadership?

The book provides case study examples to illustrate the principles at work.


What did you like best about this story?

Not applicable; this is non-fiction.


What does Kris Koscheski bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The reader did a fine job, but again, as this is non-fiction, it is difficult to find the experience enhanced by the narration.


Any additional comments?

Because this is a non-fiction, how-to kind of leadership book, I will want to review the book in print form. It was very helpful for me to listen to it on my commute so that I could glean major principles and ideas. I'm sure for some learning styles, this will be optimal. But for me, it will be helpful to see this in print to get a visual mental imprint as well.

Read full review

- Karen A. Wrobbel

Comprehensive approach to academic leadership

This book is a well threaded conversation of leaders' stories in the academic realm that challenges the reader to see academic leadership through quite different, but well complemented, and concomitantly reconciled perspectives or "frames." It covers many aspects of effective leadership applied to the unique and controversial academic setting, specifically in higher education.

It Is both descriptive and prescriptive. It offers the reader a holistic view of academic leadership and prescribes from complex university politics to the simplicity of keeping hydrated. Also encourages the reader to deep self reflection on his/her own leadership style, challenges and growth opportunities.

A great read.
Read full review

- R. Sanchez

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-20-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios