• by Jeffrey J. Fox
  • Narrated by Jeffrey J. Fox
  • 3 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Paperboys and girls symbolize our country's relentless, indefatigable entrepreneurial spirit. They bought, sold, and delivered papers. And they did it alone, often in the dark and cold - and they were kids! In this witty and wise story, best-selling business author Jeffrey J. Fox reveals why the lessons paperboys learn so often establish them on the early road to success. The story follows a young New England paperboy named Rain, as he navigates the business of being in business and quickly becomes the best paperboy in town. Through a series of humorous and often poignant vignettes, Fox illustrates "rainmaker" business lessons that can be applied not only to paperboys, but to anyone in business and sales facing obstacles and challenges. While working his paper route, Rain gradually discovers the value of planning for an interview, the ten customer commandments, his ability to negotiate, why it's necessary to innovate, how to create an exit strategy, and much more. Ultimately, Rain's time as a paperboy proves to be a valuable foundation for business success. Rain includes "The Rain Reader," a series of actionable business takeaways and practical advice to make anyone a rainmaker.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Delightful Listen

This is a refreshingly delightful listen to a delevoping entrepreneur as he learns to care for his customers and looks for ways to enrich their lives as well as the lives of those providing services.
Read full review

- Emma

Repetitive and boring

After an interesting start this book take a turn for the repetetive and downright boring. Often it reads like a children's book, other times it is a cascade of numbers in long calculations in conversations between the characters. It seems there is not enough material for a book and would have worked better as a long article instead.

Quite a disappointment.
Read full review

- Henrik

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-23-2009
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio