You're Not Alone

  • by Edward Janus
  • Narrated by Karen Reichart
  • 2 hrs and 3 mins
  • Speech

Publisher's Summary

You're Not Alone brings listeners the actual voices of more than twenty women and men who have lived through breast cancer and who now want to be a friend to others by sharing their experiences, well-earned wisdom, humor, and advice. Chapter 1 is entitled "Everywoman" and tells a "universal" story of the breast cancer experience from diagnosis to the end of treatment.
Chapter 2 is entitled "Taking Control." It's about how many women have learned to stay a step ahead of their disease and fears through knowledge and the support of others.
Chapter 3, "Everything Is Shaken," takes a look at death and the loss of the familiar self.
Chapter 4 is "I Get By with a Little Help from My Friends, and God."
Chapter 5, entitled "They also Suffer who Only Stand and Wait on Us," tells how husbands and partners are breast cancer "patients" too.
Chapter 6 is all about "Treatment."
Chapter 7, "A Love Story," tells how, for one woman, breast cancer marked the beginning of a new and better life.
Chapter 8, "A Child's Witness to Breast Cancer," is about growing up with a mother with breast cancer.
Chapter 9, entitled, "After Treatment: Returning to a New Normal," discusses finding meaning in having had cancer.


What the Critics Say

"The real experts on any disease are those who have to live with it on a daily basis....This program of conversations with breast cancer survivors has a very simple format and purpose....These strong voices will bring hope and determination to the fight." (Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-22-2004
  • Publisher: Voice Arts