• by Darren Henley
  • Narrated by Marin Alsop
  • 0 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a story from the Famous Composers collection.
Following on the success of The Story of Classical Music, Darren Henley and Marin Alsop combine forces again to tell, in more detail, the lives of six key composers: Bach, Vivaldi, Mozart, Beethoven, Dvorak, and Shostakovich. Their colourful lives and their love of music are told against the backdrop of some of their finest works, an ideal combination.


Audible Editor Reviews

Excerpted from the Audie-nominated production Famous Composers, this profile of the baroque master Antonio Vivaldi combines narration, reenactments, and musical selections to paint an all-encompassing portrait sure to be enjoyed by fans of all ages. Esteemed musicologist Darren Henley, OBE, provides the text, and noted conductor Marin Alsop brings a lively, inviting tone to her narration that perfectly suits the personality and musical style of the Venetian violin virtuoso, Catholic priest, and composer of sonatas, symphonies, operas and concerti, including his masterful Four Seasons.


What the Critics Say

2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work
2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Don't need to know the disagreeable

Over all I really like this series. I enjoy it as do my grandchildren.
I would prefer that the disagreeable aspects of a composer not be revealed in too much detail.
For instance it is fine to mention that Vivaldi was mischievous and that he had problems with authority.
I don't think that children need to learn that he may violated his priestly commitment. There is plenty of time to learn about those things if necessary, when they get older.
Read full review

- Francis J. Slobodnik

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-04-2013
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks