Trump Revealed

  • by Michael Kranish, Marc Fisher
  • Narrated by Campbell Scott
  • 14 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A comprehensive biography of Donald Trump, the Republican front runner in the presidential election campaign.
Trump Revealed is reported by a team of award-winning Washington Post journalists and coauthored by investigative political reporter Michael Kranish and senior editor Marc Fisher.
Trump Revealed offers the most thorough and wide-ranging examination of Donald Trump's public and private lives to date, from his upbringing in Queens and formative years at the New York Military Academy to his turbulent careers in real estate and entertainment to his astonishing rise as the front runner for the Republican presidential nomination. The book is based on the investigative reporting of more than two dozen Post reporters and researchers who leverage their expertise in politics, business, legal affairs, sports, and other areas. The effort is guided by a team of editors headed by executive editor Martin Baron, who joined the newspaper in 2013 after his successful tenure running The Boston Globe, which included the Spotlight team's investigation of sexual abuse in the Catholic Church.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

All You've Seen, Read, Heard--In One Place

If you like Trump, skip this book as it's a biography where his past is thoroughly delved into, complete with a story of how he, as a child, went into a neighbor's backyard only to be found throwing rocks at her toddler (Trump says he was just a "rambunctious" kid). It goes through later years at boarding school where he seemed to find his way but, when bested in scores, blasts his friend for cheating (sound familiar?).
It's an exasperating look at the many, many, MANY questionable and flat-out duplicitous dealings in business, with women, etc. I say exasperating because, no matter what, the public doesn't seem to care, seems to applaud his... "audacity."
If you've followed Trump in the past, you won't find much new here, but it is most certainly thorough and well-researched. Undoubtedly, it will be called Trump-Bashing, and may even spark a law suit by the man, as he's done with so many other stories in the past, but I don't see how that'll stick. Trump and his words on record are used as a source, and the man positively gloats about his dealings.
I wish Marc Fisher had narrated it as he does an admirable job with the foreword and epilogue. As it is, Campbell Scott, as he is apt to, turns in a rather unenthusiastic performance (I know! I know! Nonfiction is hard to narrate). He does, however, manage Trump's words/quotes well, choosing not to turn the man into a caricature. Most appreciated!
Truly an extraordinary look at an extraordinary man who knows how to, "give the people what they want." And it's frightening what they want.
Kinda makes me wanna go take a shower right now...
Read full review

- Gillian "SciFi/Fantasy and Classics to History, Adventure and Memoirs to Social Commentary—I love and listen to it all!"

Riveting book that will polarize readers

You forget you're reading about a presidential candidate. This book reads like an engrossing biography of a business mogul in the vein of Rockefeller or Jobs. Men who embodied the American archetype of the maverick entrepreneur. Complicated men with difficult personalities and big ambitions.

But the comparison ends there.

A group of Washington Post reporters assembled this book in record time. And unlike another reviewer, I marveled at how seamlessly the pieces fit together--except where the chronology backtracks to follow some new thread of inquiry.

This book is going to polarize readers. If you like Trump, you will find the candidate's family history, business deals and branding savvy informative. But you'll flinch at the way the authors' choose to tell the stories of Trump's life, which are on the whole unflattering.

Still, those readers opposed to candidate Trump might be surprised (or not) that these reporters from a decidedly liberal-leaning newspaper have reined in their narrative. Unlike what is turning out to be the usual run of anti-Trump and anti-Hillary Clinton books, this biography doesn't call out what the authors' perceive as Trump's character flaws in ALL CAPS and exclamation points.

The reporters haven woven an absorbing biography. The preface places Trump in the months leading up to his candidacy. Chapter one offers standard biography fare, with backstories on the grandparents and parents.

Father Fred Trump's real estate dealings and allegations of racist rental policies are teased out. There are stories of Trump as a pranksterish youth and as a young man of means desperate to throw off his father's business and set off on his own terms. Trump comes off as a supremely confident and monomaniacal figure obsessed with deal making (big surprise there), real estate and himself. The Marla Maples affair gets ink. We get some insight into the real estate projects in New York, Atlantic City, Panama, Scotland, etc.

Other topics: Miss Universe pageant, the reality TV show, television cameo roles, bankruptcies, net worth, history with the Clintons, flip-flopping party affiliation, appeal to the masses, evolving political platform, the Trump brand, the 2016 Republican primaries and Republican National Convention.

The book touches on the major plot points in Trump's life and uses them to build a picture of Trump as a man, businessman--and potential candidate. Along the way, the authors try to answer why Trump the presidential candidate is so alluring to certain voters and equally horrifying to others.
Read full review

- true britty "just one more book lover"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-23-2016
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio