• by Carolyn Jessop, Laura Palmer
  • Narrated by Ann Marie Lee
  • 9 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The author of The New York Times best seller Escape returns with a moving and inspirational tale of her life after she heroically fled the cult she'd been raised in, her hard-won new identity and happiness, and her determination to win justice for the crimes committed against her family.
In 2003, Carolyn Jessop, 35, a lifelong member of the extremist Mormon sect the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (FLDS), gathered up her eight children, including her profoundly disabled four-year-old son, and escaped in the middle of the night to freedom. Jessop detailed the story of her harrowing flight and the shocking conditions that sparked it in her 2007 memoir, Escape. Reveling in her newfound identity as a best-selling author, a devoted mom, and a loving companion to the wonderful man in her life, Jessop thought she had put her past firmly behind her.
Then, on April 3, 2008, it came roaring back. On that date, the state of Texas staged a surprise raid on the Yearning for Zion Ranch, a sprawling, 1,700-acre compound near Eldorado, Texas, to which the jailed FLDS prophet Warren Jeffs had relocated his sects most worthy members three years earlier.
The ranch was being run by Merril Jessop, Carolyn's ex-husband and one of the cult's most powerful leaders.
In Triumph, Jessop tells the real, and even more harrowing, story behind the raid and sets the public straight on much of the damaging misinformation that flooded the media in its aftermath. She recounts the setbacks (the tragic decision of the Supreme Court of Texas to allow the children in state custody to return to their parents) as well as the successes (the fact that evidence seized in the raid is the basis for the string of criminal trials of FLDS leaders that began in October 2009 and will continue throughout 2010), all while weaving in details of her own life since the publication of her first book.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Helped me to look at the raid differently.

I listened to Carolyn's first book "Escaped" and was fascinated. I wasn't sure this book would have that much new info, but decided to take the chance. I'm glad I did, as it made me look at the whole raid that took place on the FDLS community in 2008 differently. I remember reading about it, watching it on the news, watching the Oprah show where she interviewed the woman. At the time I thought, I wouldn't personally choose to live that way, but those woman seem to be happy with their choice, so they have that right.. But after listening to this book I realize that the woman of this community are "trained" to say and do the "right" thing, and what we saw on tv was just the result of years of brainwashing these woman experienced. After listening to this book, I'm disappointed that the children were eventually returned to this life style without more being offered to the mothers as a way out.
The first part of the book is about the raid, the 2nd part is more of an update as to what has happened in Carolyn's life and her childrens life after their escape. There's quite a bit of info about her oldest daughter, Betty, too, and about her return to the FDLS..
Ann Marie Lee narrates the book and does a great job. She has an enjoyable voice and kept the book interesting throughout the entire thing.
Read full review

- Karen "Karen of Northern Michigan"

Okay but not as good as Escape

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

I would have liked to hear more facts on the aftermath of her escape.

What do you think your next listen will be?

Shattered Dreams

Would you be willing to try another one of Ann Marie Lee’s performances?


You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

The story was ok some of it was corny.

Read full review

- Jennifer "Say something about yourself!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-04-2010
  • Publisher: Random House Audio