• by Frank McCourt
  • Narrated by Frank McCourt
  • 6 hrs and 28 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The same vulnerable but invincible spirit that captured our hearts in the Pulitzer Prize-winning memoir Angela's Ashes comes of age in 'Tis. Listen as Frank tells in his own inimitable voice his story of how at the age of 19 he traveled from Limerick to New York in pursuit of the American dream. Despite the abundance of unsolicited advice he gets to "join the cops" and "stick to his own kind", Frank knows that he should educate himself and somehow rise above his circumstances. And though he left school at 14, he talks his way into New York University, falls in love with the quintessential Yankee, long-legged and blond, and tries to live his dream. But it is not until he starts to teach - and to write - that Frank finds his place in the world. And for those of us who are lucky enough to come across his writings - and captivating readings - 'Tis a wonderful thing that he did.


What the Critics Say

"To his Irish-American credit, [McCourt] acknowledges his heritage as his cross as well as his prize´┐Ż" (The New York Times)
"'Tis is a hard-nosed but lyrical conclusion to the story begun in Angela's Ashes." (Newsweek)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

get unabridged edition instead

I loved Angela's Ashes and was really looking forward to Tis. Unfortunately, I goofed and bought the abridged version in error. I definitely feel I missed out. There were sections where I asked myself how we arrived at that place until I remembered I had the "short" version. Never again!
Read full review

- Diane


having not read the book first i dont think it would have translated quite as well without the fantastic narration by the author. The simplistic style and complete honesty is very refreshing.Being Irish there are many apsects of This book that only the irish can appreciate, The hardship, the emotional backwardness and above all the comedy.
Read full review

- Alan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-16-1999
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio