This Is Really Happening

  • by Erin Chack
  • Narrated by Erin Chack
  • 4 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack hits you in the guts, the feelings, and the funny bone all at once with this collection of personal essays that sounds like Sloane Crosley for the Snapchat generation.
In turns hysterically funny and heartbreakingly poignant, Erin recounts everything from meeting her soul mate at age 14 to her first chemotherapy session at age 19 to what really goes on behind the scenes at a major Internet media company.
She authentically captures the agony and the ecstasy of the millennial experience, whether it's her first kiss ("Sean's tongue! In my mouth! Slippery and wet like a slug in the rain."); or her struggles with anxiety ("When people throw caution to the wind, I am stuck imagining the poor soul who has to break his back sweeping caution into a dustpan").
Yet Erin also offers a fresh perspective on universal themes of resilience and love as she writes about surviving cancer - including learning of her mother's own cancer diagnosis within the same year and her attempts to hide the diagnosis from friends to avoid "un-normaling" everything.
Perfect for fans of Jenny Lawson, Amy Poehler, and Kelly Williams Brown, this sharply observed memoir introduces Erin Chack as a strikingly original new voice.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-25-2017
  • Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)