The Twelve Caesars

  • by Suetonius
  • Narrated by Charlton Griffin
  • 14 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the dignified grace of Augustus to the cruel debauchery of Nero, this history chronicles all the vices and virtues of the first 12 rulers of Imperial Rome. The Twelve Caesars was written based on the information of eyewitnesses and public records. It conveys a very accurate picture of court life in Rome and contains some of the raciest and most salacious material to be found in all of ancient literature.The writing is clear, simple and easy to understand, and the numerous anecdotes of juicy scandal, bitter court intrigue, and murderous brigandage easily hold their own against the most spirited content of today's tabloids.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A pleasure to read...

It's always a concern how many stars to give a treasured work of history. This book is of course a history, but also a piece of history and as necessary in the milieu of the great works of western literature as any other work from the period. As such, I give it 5 starts, and on it's own merit it was a very enjoyable read.

Beginning with Julius Caesar and ending with the reign of Domitian, Suetonius tells a tale that includes all the victories, works and scandals of each of the emperors in turn. There is some question as to the reliability of some of his sources, as experts have learned, but I think that this in no way diminishes the text. Like with any history, several sources should be considered and Suetonius should be the first with Tacitus next and whatever you can find to follow, as this is truly a fascinating period in Western history.
Read full review

- Robyn

A very good listen

I really enjoyed this listen. I rarely listen to the same book twice but I will make an exception for this book!
Read full review

- steve "Addicted to Audible since 2009"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-27-2009
  • Publisher: Audio Connoisseur