The Tide Always Comes Back

  • by Senator Jean Carnahan
  • Narrated by Jean Alexander
  • 4 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Inspiration, reflection, and humor from an accidental politician.
Jean Carnahan was the first lady of Missouri when her husband, Governor Mel Carnahan, who was running for the U.S. Senate, and their son, were killed in a plane crash. When Mel Carnahan was elected posthumously (beating John Ashcroft), Jean agreed to take his seat in Washington and served in the U.S. Senate during 9/11, the anthrax attacks, and the vote to go to war in Iraq. During a time of intense and almost unimaginable personal loss, she managed to keep her head up and her heart open and worked diligently for her constituents and for the country. Her upbeat attitude is truly a lesson to us all.
Carnahan, in the public sphere most recently as she campaigned for President Barack Obama, is a skillful writer. A cross between Molly Ivins and Maria Shriver, she brings her tales about aging, change, strengthening the family, history, politics, and language to the page with a plainspoken, wise humor that is pure pleasure and genuinely uplifting. The Tide Always Comes Back is the kind of practical inspirational gift book that word-of-mouth could turn into a wonderful, evergreen book.


Audible Editor Reviews

Missouri Senator Jean Carnahan’s breathtaking memoir The Tide Always Comes Back: And Other Irrefutable Truths and Assurances details her tragic and inspiring path to politics through the deaths of her husband, Missouri Governor Mel Carnahan, and son. This stunning work follows Carnahan through the decisions she makes throughout her time in Washington, highlighting her personal struggles with grief as well as the optimism, strength, and dedication to country that allowed her to triumph over adversity, both in her personal and professional lives.
Jean Alexander’s warm and approachable performance brings a special light to this rich, multifaceted story, emphasizing just how much Carnahan has to teach - and what a wonderful person she is to learn from.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-31-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios