The New Old Me

  • by Meredith Maran
  • Narrated by Christina Delaine
  • 8 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life savings, and the collapse of her once-happy marriage, Meredith Maran - whom Anne Lamott calls "insightful, funny, and human" - leaves her San Francisco freelance writer's life for a 9-to-5 job in Los Angeles. Determined to rebuild not only her savings but herself while relishing the joys of life in La-La land, Maran writes "a poignant story, a funny story, a moving story, and above all an American story of what it means to be a woman of a certain age in our time" (Christina Baker Kline, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Orphan Train).

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not what I expected at all

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

This book was about a lesbian relationship, separation, divorce. I am sure it is beneficial to some but 100% shocking for one with no idea this was the story line plus it was VERY dark.


What was most disappointing about Meredith Maran’s story?

.


Would you be willing to try another one of Christina Delaine’s performances?

.


What character would you cut from The New Old Me?

.


Any additional comments?

.

Read full review

- LB

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-14-2017
  • Publisher: HighBridge, a Division of Recorded Books