Regular price: $24.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life savings, and the collapse of her once-happy marriage, Meredith Maran - whom Anne Lamott calls "insightful, funny, and human" - leaves her San Francisco freelance writer's life for a 9-to-5 job in Los Angeles. Determined to rebuild not only her savings but herself while relishing the joys of life in La-La land, Maran writes "a poignant story, a funny story, a moving story, and above all an American story of what it means to be a woman of a certain age in our time" (Christina Baker Kline, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Orphan Train).
©2017 Meredith Maran (P)2017 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Catherine on 09-06-17

Annoying - Pretty Much a Downer

What did you like best about The New Old Me? What did you like least?

Kind of a struggle to get through - Accurate portrayal of LA - but the hero is so unable to be satisfied

Would you recommend The New Old Me to your friends? Why or why not?

No - Character was "all about me" Blah Blah Blah

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Retired on 08-30-17

Disappointing

I was drawn to this book because of its catchy, wry title. The author did deliver on her story, but it seemed self-indulgent to me. Page after page of me, me,me. A main theme is how much she missed her wife, whom she never refers to by name. The endless repetition of the term " my wife" seemed an annoying affectation. Meanwhile, she never discusses becoming a lesbian after twenty years of marriage to a man, and having two children, whom she barely mentions.
There were a few amusing, sympathetic incidents and the writing is ok. I did finish the book to see how she found her way, but honestly I just didn't enjoy it.
Also, I found the narration grating. It wasn't terrible, but the narrators voice rose loudly so often for dramatic effect that I was always turning down the volume.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews