Regular price: $24.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life savings, and the collapse of her once-happy marriage, Meredith Maran - whom Anne Lamott calls "insightful, funny, and human" - leaves her San Francisco freelance writer's life for a 9-to-5 job in Los Angeles. Determined to rebuild not only her savings but herself while relishing the joys of life in La-La land, Maran writes "a poignant story, a funny story, a moving story, and above all an American story of what it means to be a woman of a certain age in our time" (Christina Baker Kline, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Orphan Train).
©2017 Meredith Maran (P)2017 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Catherine on 09-06-17

Annoying - Pretty Much a Downer

What did you like best about The New Old Me? What did you like least?

Kind of a struggle to get through - Accurate portrayal of LA - but the hero is so unable to be satisfied

Would you recommend The New Old Me to your friends? Why or why not?

No - Character was "all about me" Blah Blah Blah

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Retired on 08-30-17

Disappointing

I was drawn to this book because of its catchy, wry title. The author did deliver on her story, but it seemed self-indulgent to me. Page after page of me, me,me. A main theme is how much she missed her wife, whom she never refers to by name. The endless repetition of the term " my wife" seemed an annoying affectation. Meanwhile, she never discusses becoming a lesbian after twenty years of marriage to a man, and having two children, whom she barely mentions.
There were a few amusing, sympathetic incidents and the writing is ok. I did finish the book to see how she found her way, but honestly I just didn't enjoy it.
Also, I found the narration grating. It wasn't terrible, but the narrators voice rose loudly so often for dramatic effect that I was always turning down the volume.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc