The New Old Me

  • by Meredith Maran
  • Narrated by Christina Delaine
  • 8 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. For fans of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a postdivorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 - in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood. After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life savings, and the collapse of her once-happy marriage, Meredith Maran - whom Anne Lamott calls "insightful, funny, and human" - leaves her San Francisco freelance writer's life for a 9-to-5 job in Los Angeles. Determined to rebuild not only her savings but herself while relishing the joys of life in La-La land, Maran writes "a poignant story, a funny story, a moving story, and above all an American story of what it means to be a woman of a certain age in our time" (Christina Baker Kline, number-one New York Times best-selling author of Orphan Train).

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Annoying - Pretty Much a Downer

What did you like best about The New Old Me? What did you like least?

Kind of a struggle to get through - Accurate portrayal of LA - but the hero is so unable to be satisfied


Would you recommend The New Old Me to your friends? Why or why not?

No - Character was "all about me" Blah Blah Blah


Read full review

- Catherine

Great Story, Annoying Narration

I loved the story, but almost couldn't get past the over-dramatic, over-acted narration. I would have rather read this book just to avoid the narration. But I pushed on because I did really enjoy the story and the author's perspective.
Read full review

- Teresa J. Rhyne

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-14-2017
  • Publisher: HighBridge, a Division of Recorded Books