The Man Who Couldn't Stop

  • by David Adam
  • Narrated by Daniel Philpott
  • 7 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this captivating fusion of science and personal memoir, writer David Adam explores the weird thoughts that exist within every mind. David has suffered from OCD for twenty years, and The Man Who Couldn’t Stop is his honest attempt to understand the condition. At what point does a harmless idea become a blinding blizzard of unwanted thoughts? Drawing on the latest research on the brain, as well as historical accounts of patients and their treatments, this is an audiobook that will challenge the way you think about what is normal, and what is mental illness.


What the Critics Say

"Superb... A brave and helpful contribution to deepening our understanding of the intricate complexities of mental ill-health." (The Times)
"Combines a scientific account of OCD from ancient times to the most recent research with passages of tenderly written memoir." (Telegraph)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Amazing look into the mind of OCD

Really enjoyed this book. Great balance of history of mental illness of this nature with personal experience. Definitely recommend this read to anyone who is curious about this condition. I didn't expect a book of this nature to be so difficult to put down...but I was intrigued cover to cover.
Read full review

- K. Fidler

Better understanding of OCD

I learned quite a bit about OCD which my son has lived with since he was a young boy, he is now 30. Wish I had read something like this sooner, I suppose I thought I understood the topic a great deal better. My only negative about this book is that he did not really get into much about the brain scans and related research that has been done over the last few years. I am certain, however, there are many books I can find which will lend more to that topic. If you are dealing with OCD or have a loved one who is, you definitely want to read this book.
Read full review

- Barbara Alexander

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-07-2014
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks