The Majesty of the Law

  • by Sandra Day O'Connor
  • Narrated by Sandra Day O'Connor
  • 6 hrs and 7 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor explores the law, her life as a justice, and how the Court has evolved and continues to function, grow, and change as an American institution. Tracing some of the origins of American law through history, people, and ideas, O'Connor sheds new light on the basics, and through personal observation she explores the development of institutions and ideas we have come to regard as fundamental. O'Connor discusses notable cases that have shaped American democracy and the Court as we know it today, and she traces the turbulent battle women have fought since America's inception for a place in our nation's legal system.
Straight-talking, clear-eyed, inspiring, The Majesty of the Law is more than a reflection on O'Connor's own experiences as the first female justice of the Supreme Court; it also contains a discussion of how the suffrage movement changed the lives of women - in voting booths, jury boxes, and homes across the country.
In The Majesty of the Law, Sandra Day O'Connor reveals some of what she has learned and believes about American law and life, insights gleaned over her years as one of the most powerful and inspiring women in American history.


What the Critics Say

"O'Connor gets down to the nitty-gritty of her profession." (Library Journal)
"O'Connor's book is an engagingly written civics lesson, delivering a warm appreciation of legal history." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

a little bit let down

The book was great when O'Conner was talking about the court system in the United States. However, she took a side trip into women's rights...for about half the book. Althought the women's rights section was interesting, it wasn't why I chose the book.
Nonetheless, it was worth listening to...especially in Sandra Day O' Conner's own voice.
Read full review

- Andy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-18-2003
  • Publisher: Random House Audio