The Lord God Made Them All : All Creatures Great and Small

  • by James Herriot
  • Narrated by Christopher Timothy
  • Series: All Creatures Great and Small
  • 11 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The volume that completes the verse: All things bright and beautiful, All creatures great and small, All things wise and wonderful, The Lord God made them all.
The world's most beloved storyteller once again brings us the magical beauty of Yorkshire, the joys and sorrows of its inhabitants, and the richly rewarding experiences of a country veterinarian.
James and Helen now have two growing children, Jimmy and Rosie, who bring a new kind of adventure into James' life. The Herriots live at Skeldale House on the edge of the Yorkshire dales, whose peace, solitude, and feel of the wild make the countryside both thrilling and comforting at the same time.
It is the 1950s, a time of new advances in veterinary medicine, but the hard-working people of Yorkshire have not changed. That includes James' dear old friends Siegfried and Tristan - neither of whom has lost his great good humor. We also meet new friends, as James travels behind the Iron Curtain and learns about a world very different from his own. And always, his wonder, exhilaration, and affection glow in every word, whether he is talking about the glories of the moors and dales or the fascination of the people.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Just as good as the others

All of the Herriot books are great in audio -- very engaging stories that benefit much from the fine reader's rendering of the accents. This one is no exception. I was really sorry when I finished this series because I know there will be no more books.
Read full review

- Alison

Great listen

I've always enjoyed the Herriot books and having grown up with the TV series, it was wonderful to hear them read by Christopher Timothy (who plays James). This is a very relaxing listen.
Christopher Timothy reads these wonderfully, during the humourous anecdotes you can hear him smiling.
Read full review

- Nicola

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-05-2001
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio