The Log of a Cowboy

  • by Andy Adams
  • Narrated by Michael Martin Murphey
  • 3 hrs and 0 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

At the young age of 16, Andy Adams left his San Antonio home to follow his dream of becoming a cowboy. Going on long drives with some of the 19th century's hardiest cowboys, he learned his trade through many adventurous years of trial and error. This account of his true experiences includes dusty cattle drives, brandings, stampedes, dangerous river crossings, and remarkable encounters with the Blackfoot, Oglala, and Platte Indian tribes. With impeccable realism and a reporter's eye for detail, Adams brings the untamed West and its legendary characters vividly to life. This program is part of the National Cowboy Hall of Fame Classic Western series.


What the Critics Say

"(The Log of a Cowboy) carries its own certificate of authentic firsthand experience." (Chicago Herald)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Lots of fun

-- if you like cows, cowboys, stories from the old West and a bit of banjo music.
Thank goodness I'd watched lots of Gunsmoke so I knew just what they'd do when the herd reached Dodge City :-)
Read full review

- Donna

The Real West Portrayed By One Who Was There

What did you love best about The Log of a Cowboy?

This book had a wonderful historic rhythm. You are there on a trail drive.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Log of a Cowboy?

One memorable scene was the way the Trail Boss handled the cattle thieves.

What about Michael Martin Murphey’s performance did you like?

The narrator, Michael Martin Murphey, was perfect. He did an outstanding job.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

At the end of the drive, when the cowboys part ways, there is a feeling of loss that is both sad and palpable. An epic has ended.

Any additional comments?

This is a great read for anyone. Even a kid would like this book. It is real history.
If time is short, this is a quick read.

Read full review

- JackMargo

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-15-1999
  • Publisher: Phoenix Books