The Favored Daughter

  • by Fawzia Koofi, Nadene Ghouri
  • Narrated by Emily Durante
  • 9 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The 19th daughter of a local village leader in rural Afghanistan, Fawzia Koofi was left to die in the sun after birth by her mother. But she survived, and perseverance in the face of extreme hardship has defined her life ever since. Despite the abuse of her family, the exploitative Russian and Taliban regimes, the murders of her father, brother, and husband, and numerous attempts on her life, she rose to become the first Afghani woman Parliament speaker. Here, she shares her amazing story, punctuated by a series of poignant letters she wrote to her two daughters before each political trip - letters describing the future and freedoms she dreamed of for them and for all the women of Afghanistan.
Her story movingly captures the political and cultural moment in Afghanistan, a country caught between the hope of progress and the bitter truth of history.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great insight

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes. We in America know so little about what is going on in Afghanistan. I thought it was very interesting to see from the eyes of a woman who lived it and experienced it. Very touching.

Have you listened to any of Emily Durante’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No. Unfortunately cannot compare.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?


Any additional comments?

Read/listen to this book

Read full review

- Brian

I can imagine the whole story!!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

yes!! This is very well written book!! It is a great book that describes the lives of people from Afghanistan. Explained how life continuously changed from good to bad to more bad to good. I was amazed how she survived such tragedies. I enjoyed this book so much!!!!

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-08-2013
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio