The Bridge Ladies

  • by Betsy Lerner
  • Narrated by Orlagh Cassidy
  • 8 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A 50-year-old bridge game provides an unexpected way to cross the generational divide between a daughter and her mother. Betsy Lerner takes us on a powerfully personal literary journey where we learn a little about bridge and a lot about life.
After a lifetime defining herself in contrast to her mother's "don't ask, don't tell" generation, Lerner finds herself back in her childhood home, not five miles from the mother she spent decades avoiding. When Roz needs help after surgery, it falls to Betsy to take care of her. She expected a week of tense civility; what she gets instead are the Bridge Ladies. Impressed by their loyalty, she sees something her generation lacks. Facebook is great, but it won't deliver a pot roast.
Tentatively at first, Betsy becomes a regular at her mother's Monday bridge club. Through her friendships with the ladies, she is finally able to face years of misunderstandings and family tragedy, the bridge table becoming the common ground she and Roz never had.
By turns darkly funny and deeply moving, The Bridge Ladies is the unforgettable story of a hard-won - but never-too-late - bond between mother and daughter.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


What a wonderful book for anyone who has ever played Bridge or whose mother was a Bridge player! A lovely memoir and a wonderful perspective on how Bridge is more than playing cards. The story was great, the narrator was excellent.
Read full review

- carole

I Related to this Story

What did you like best about The Bridge Ladies? What did you like least?

I am the same age as the author, child of Jewish Bridge players. So this book resonated! And her writing is lovely!

How could the performance have been better?

The narrator mangled more than the Yiddish - she mangled some English, too! Nonagenerian and Anathema not pronounced right? Yikes!

Read full review

- Barbara Giammona

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-03-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio