The 13th Gift

  • by Joanne Huist Smith
  • Narrated by Joanne Huist Smith
  • 5 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas story about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love.
After the unexpected death of her husband, Joanne Huist Smith had no idea how she would keep herself together and be strong for her three children - especially with the holiday season approaching. But 12 days before Christmas, presents begin appearing on her doorstep with notes from their "True Friends." As the Smiths came together to solve the mystery of who the gifts were from, they began to thaw out from their grief and come together again as a family. This true story about the power of random acts of kindness will warm the heart, a beautiful reminder of the miracles of Christmas and the gift of family during the holiday season.

More

What the Critics Say

"If there ever was a roller-coasterish page-turner of a Christmas book, this would be it. As a veteran devourer of Christmas stories short and long, fictional and true, I mistakenly assumed I'd encountered every conceivable plot variant in the genre. Turns out I was dead-wrong. Joanne Hurst Smith's wondrous story hit me from so many directions, playing on the strings of so many emotions, that it left me limp at the end Quite simply, it is a masterpiece." (Joe L. Wheeler, Ph.D., author of the bestselling Christmas in My Heart series)
"The 13th Gift has a touch of magic in it. It's a lovely story that proves we can recover from any loss, strengthened by the blessings of others. It's a classic for the Christmas season--and all seasons." (Glenn Plaskin, author of Katie Up And Down The Hall: The True Story Of How One Dog Turned Five Neighbors Into A Family)
"For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas memoir about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love." (Book Reporter.com)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very good book. I enjoyed every minute of it.

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, I would recommend this book.


What did you like best about this story?

How real it felt.


Which scene was your favorite?

When things became happy.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes


Any additional comments?

The only thing I had a problem with, is the reader sounded just like Rosanne Barr's voice, when she is being nice. It took me a few chapters to get her out of my head because I can't stand her. Very nice story, and it made me want to start this tradition for someone in need.

Read full review

- Book Lover "yayalori"

Love and Loss

This was a very heart wrenching book based on a true story of love, loss and a journey of the heart.
Read full review

- Susan "I don't usually rush out for all the "best sellers", but give each intriguing book/author a look. I have found many diamonds in the rough."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-28-2014
  • Publisher: Random House Audio