Summary | And Then All Hell Breaks Loose: Two Decades in the Middle East

  • by Slim Reads
  • Narrated by Rebecca Roberts
  • 0 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a summary of And Then All Hell Broke Loose: Two Decades in the Middle East - not the original book.
And Then All Hell Breaks Loose is a powerful book on the life of one reporter in the Middle East. Richard Engal spent most of his life from 1996 - now in the Middle East covering many different stories. From his time in Cairo with the first al-Qaeda attacks to the Iraqi War and then to Syria, Engal has seen it all. He reminisces what it felt like in Lebanon to go back to a semi-normal life after his intense years living undercover in Baghdad, fearing for his life on a minute-by-minute basis. This book brings to life what reporters actually go through and how they deal with death and catastrophic events while reporting to the American public in a calm demeanor.
Inside this Slim Reads summary/review of And Then All Hell Broke Loose:

Summary of each chapter
Highlights (key points)
Bonus: Critics corner
Bonus: Report about the tidiest and messiest places on Earth.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Just read the book!

What disappointed you about Summary | And Then All Hell Breaks Loose: Two Decades in the Middle East?

I was disappointed by just about everything about this summary. To me it sounded as though it had been written by a middle school student and read by one, as well. I hoped for something a bit more sophisticated. I'd never listened to one of these before, so I have no idea of how this compares to other 'summaries'. Seriously, this was badly written.

Would you ever listen to anything by Slim Reads again?

Based on this experience, probably not.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

By sounding about 16 years old and being too bright and chirpy. Also there were a couple of word mispronunciations that grated.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Disappointment....and a faint sense of being an idiot for having bought it.

Any additional comments?

This could have been done better. I could have done it better. Most of my friends could have done it better.

Read full review

- Michele B

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-11-2016
  • Publisher: Fulcrum Press