• Spinning at the Boundary

  • The Making of an Air Traffic Controller
  • By: David Larson
  • Narrated by: Thomas Block
  • Length: 8 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 09-04-15
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: David Larson
  • 4.2 (22 ratings)

Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Air traffic control is one of the most misunderstood occupations in the world, and yet it affects anyone that has ever... or will ever fly in an aircraft. This audiobook tells all. You may never fly again.
©2015 David Larson (P)2015 David Larson
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Mark L. Berry on 10-13-15

The ABCs of ATC

What other book might you compare Spinning at the Boundary to and why?

A complimentary read is 'Secrets from the Tower: an O'Hare Air Traffic Controller's Personal Stories of Life and Aviation' by Bob Richards.

What about Thomas Block’s performance did you like?

I'm a fan of Thomas Block's storytelling.

Any additional comments?

Much like the 'For Dummies' series of books, this memoir reveals technical info infused with an edgy sense of humor, and metaphors galore. 'Spinning at the Boundary' is the scoop on those who steer from the (radar) scope. 'Ear muffs' warning: Lots of graphic language. Also, there are plenty of accusations and finger pointing in this former Air Traffic Controller's tell-all.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

By Ken on 01-29-16

Spinning at the earphones 😊

As a past military ground crew and aviator I found the book interesting and often very funny. Larsons style of honestly telling his anecdotes coupled
With self deprecation and humor was very entertaining.
On the down side anyone who does not have an extensive background in aviation, air and ground aerodrome practices and a good "air sense" is highly advises to gloss over the detailed descriptions of air traffic vectoring and general radio and physical activities by the characters here in or you'll be spinning at the earphones.

Mr Block was the perfect and possibly only professional narrator in the industry who could pull this one off given his history as a international heavy jet commercial pilot for almost half a century. His excellent narration techniques and voice were well up to the task as usual.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc