Regular price: $29.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Funny and poignant personal stories and reflections from former first daughters Jenna Bush Hager and Barbara Pierce Bush.
Born into a political dynasty, Jenna and Barbara Bush grew up in the public eye. As small children, they watched their grandfather become president; just 12 years later they stood by their father's side when he took the same oath. They spent their college years being trailed by the Secret Service and chased by the paparazzi, with every teenage mistake making national headlines. But the tabloids didn't tell the whole story of these two young women forging their own identities under extraordinary circumstances.
In this book, they take listeners on a revealing, thoughtful, and deeply personal tour behind the scenes of their lives, with never-before-told stories about their family, their adventures, their loves and losses, and the special sisterly bond that fulfills them.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2017 Jenna Bush Hager and Barbara Pierce Bush (P)2017 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Jean on 11-02-17

Charming Memoir

This memoir by the fraternal Bush twins has the forward by their mother, Laura Bush. Jenna Bush Hager is a correspondent for NBC’s Today Show and Barbara Pierce Bush is CEO and founder of Global Health Corps.

They discuss their early life in Midland Texas and attending high school in Austin, Texas when their father was Governor. They tell about life in the Governor’s Mansion and in the White House.

The book is full of heartwarming anecdotes as well as humorous ones. The reader gets a glimpse into the life of the Bushes as well as that of the senior Bush family. Barbara “the Enforcer” Bush has several great one-liners. They discussed the effects on the family watching their maternal grandfather decline due to his Alzheimer’s disease. This is not a political book but a family story.

The book is six and a half hours long. The Bush twins narrated the book. Great to hear their stories in their own voice. It seems to make the book more personal.

Read More Hide me

15 of 17 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Herstory buff on 12-05-17

Family & Global Connection: It Is Wonderful

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

If you like autobiographies and the sound of the authors' reading, this is a touching collection of many stories beyond politics. The Bush Girls establish their own independence and tell stories of their remarkable parents and grandparents ability and determination to raise them in a healthy home despite their fishbowl life.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Sisters First?

To learn that after Barbara experienced heartbreak, her father texted her every morning with supportive words, a Bible reference, or just an emoji. She would text or emoji back. I told my husband how much it means to our daughter to do likewise and he took that to heart and started making contact every morning with her and they are closer. George W, regardless of his position, is a warm-hearted father who adores the women in his family and shows what Love is. Any negative opinions of him melted away and my respect for him grows. He truly does care for and honors veterans.

Which scene was your favorite?

When the girls ordered peanut butter sandwiches from the staff at the White House from the bowling alley by phone to the staff when their grandfather was president, and instead they got a personal visit by their grandmother Barbara Bush who informed them they were guests and to never ever do that again. It was something I would have done as a kid probably, but Grandma had her standards and demanded respect for others and for the White House and the office of the presidency. Touching.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Their Grandfather, President Bush, greeting Jenna and placing his hand on her stomach on Christmas day in the hospital when his condition turned grave and him telling her he couldn't wait until he met the new baby.. She broke down crying and believed he would never meet her child, whereas, his wife, Barbara talked nonstop about how he was going to meet the baby and all the things he had yet to do, that he could not die, and he didn't. Also, it was touching to hear one of the girls state that every night, the President and Barbara Bush hold hands when falling asleep.

Any additional comments?

Having children about their age, and hearing all that they did, as normal kids do, I recognized how normal they were, as well as mine were, and how much our children mature and come back to the nest and their roots with love and loyalty and greater understanding. I did not vote for their parents and grandparents, but I adore and respect them greatly, so don't shy away from this book as it is sans politics--a good lesson in today's atmosphere. Also, I am in admiration and in awe of Barbara's dedicated work for AIDs resources in our country and Africa. I want my children to do the same--be caring human beings and taking care of our planet near and far and their family. I needed that inspirational book and was so moved that I donated (unasked) to their organization for global health.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews