• by Darren Henley
  • Narrated by Marin Alsop
  • 0 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a story from the Famous Composers collection.
Following on the success of The Story of Classical Music, Darren Henley and Marin Alsop combine forces again to tell, in more detail, the lives of six key composers: Bach, Vivaldi, Mozart, Beethoven, Dvorak, and Shostakovich. Their colourful lives and their love of music are told against the backdrop of some of their finest works, an ideal combination.


Audible Editor Reviews

This excerpt from David Henley's Famous Composers collection is a worthy introduction to Dmitry Shostakovich, one of the great composers of the 20th century. Shostakovich's mother taught the young boy to play piano, and his prodigious talent allowed him entrance to a conservatory at an early age. His first symphony, written as a school assignment, would garner him international acclaim, but his struggles under Joseph Stalin's government would challenge career. Marin Alsop emphasizes the dramatic life and work of Shostakovich with a mix of wonder and shock and, when coupled with excerpts of his music, makes this an engaging listen.


What the Critics Say

2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work
2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-04-2013
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks