Robert E. Lee

  • by Noah Andre Trudeau
  • Narrated by Tom Weiner
  • 5 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

General Robert E. Lee was a complicated man and military figure. In Robert E. Lee, the 11th book in the critically acclaimed Great Generals Series, Noah Andre Trudeau follows the general's Civil War path with a special emphasis on Lee's changing set of personal values as the conflict wended through four bloody years, offering tantalizing glimpses into Lee’s character and exploring his famous skills as a crafty and daring tactician.
This insightful new account delivers a fresh perspective on one of the most beloved and enigmatic military leaders of all time, as well as on the war that divided our nation and led to many of the sectional political issues that have since cast a long shadow over American politics.


What the Critics Say

“For a century after the death of Robert E. Lee in 1870, his image achieved iconic status in the South—and beyond. In recent decades, however, historians have discovered a flesh-and-blood Lee who is far more complex and interesting than the marble man of yore. Trudeau’s fast-paced biography offers a well-rounded portrait of Robert E. Lee.” (James M. McPherson, best-selling author of Battle Cry of Freedom)
“Noah Andre Trudeau’s Robert E. Lee offers an insightful portrait of one of America’s greatest generals. In a brisk narrative, Trudeau delineates the personal and professional attributes of the famous Confederate leader. A reader will learn much in these pages about a fascinating, historic figure.” (Jeffry D. Wert, author Cavalryman of the Lost Cause)
“A crisply written and compelling biography of one of America’s most celebrated soldiers. Trudeau’s keen insights and considerable talents as a writer and historian make this book a must read for anyone wishing to understand Lee’s remarkable military career and mastery of the battlefield.” (W. Todd Groce, president and CEO of Georgia Historical Society and author of Mountain Rebels)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-30-2010
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.