• by Susan Sontag
  • Narrated by Jennifer Van Dyck
  • 8 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"I intend to do everything...I shall anticipate pleasure everywhere and find it too, for it is everywhere! I shall involve myself wholly...everything matters!" This first selection from Susan Sontag's diaries (from 1947-1963) takes us from early adolescence through to when Sontag was in her early 30s. It is an astonishingly affecting and honest self-portrait which is also a fascinating, revealing account of an artist and critic being born. We see Sontag honing her skills and fashioning herself, by a supreme act of will, into an intellectual force.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Performed well. But...

As with any journal, not every day is full of gender bending and social revelations. If you want a glimpse into her life this is it. But it's not going to change your life.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-02-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios