• by Tim Reiterman
  • Narrated by Mitch Horowitz
  • 29 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The basis for the upcoming HBO miniseries and the "definitive account of the Jonestown massacre" (Rolling Stone).
Tim Reiterman's Raven provides the seminal history of the Rev. Jim Jones, the Peoples Temple, and the murderous ordeal at Jonestown in 1978.
This PEN Award-winning work explores the ideals gone wrong, the intrigue, and the grim realities behind the Peoples Temple and its implosion in the jungle of South America. Reiterman's reportage clarifies enduring misperceptions of the character and motives of Jim Jones, the reasons why people followed him, and the important truth that many of those who perished at Jonestown were victims of mass murder rather than suicide.
This widely sought work is restored to print after many years with a new preface by the author.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

What a very thoroughly written book!

Obviously this was very well-researched. The reader leaves with a much better understanding of what happened, the people affected, and what went wrong. Many passages were jaw-dropping. It's one of those books you just can't set down.
Read full review

- Traci P.

Provides authoritative insight into an enduring American tragedy

There is no getting around it, the story of the People's Temple and Jonestown is haunting, perplexing, tragic and so disturbing. We want to distance ourselves from this event. We want to believe that we would never be taken in by an ego maniacal narcissist but there are many Americans who are part of cult groups. Having read extensively about Jim Jones and the people he murdered, I am humbled. This is the most authoritative work on the topic. The authors care in sourcing and researching of every detail is evident throughout and the amazing insight into the final chapter that one of the authors can bring to bear because of his first hand knowledge is powerful.
Read full review

- COJoebro

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-04-2017
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio