Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The mind-blowing true story of Pablo Escobar and the Medellín Cartel beyond their portrayal on Netflix.
Colombian drug lord Pablo Escobar was a devoted family man and a psychopathic killer; a terrible enemy, yet a wonderful friend. While donating millions to the poor, he bombed and tortured his enemies - some had their eyeballs removed with hot spoons. Through ruthless cunning and America's insatiable appetite for cocaine, he became a multi-billionaire, who lived in a $100-million house with its own zoo.
Pablo Escobar: Beyond Narcos demolishes the standard good versus evil telling of his story. The authorities were not hunting Pablo down to stop his cocaine business. They were taking it over.
Shaun Attwood's War on Drugs trilogy - Pablo Escobar, American Made, and We Are Being Lied To - is a series of harrowing, action-packed and interlinked true stories that demonstrate the catastrophic consequences of drug prohibition.
©2016 Shaun Attwood (P)2016 Shaun Attwood
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Randal and Cherise on 10-04-17

Much more than Netflix docs; war on drugs exposed

Having watched Narcos and after reading the books by Pablo’s son and Mark Bowden, I moved onto this one, which is original in its perspective of the war on drugs. None of the others confronted the role of the corrupt US government and the CIA. In Pablo’s son’s second book, which came out after this one, he finally details his father’s relationship with the CIA, who were complicit in cocaine trafficking to finance wars against communism in Nicaragua and central and South America. Perhaps that’s the reason why Pablo’s son’s second book is only available in Spanish. This author goes where the rest have not. For those who like war on drugs stuff, I recommend his entire war on drugs series.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

By Jj on 01-29-18


Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

Not really.

Would you recommend Pablo Escobar to your friends? Why or why not?

Book is riddled with bias and concepts akin to general playground gossip.

How could the performance have been better?

For the love of GOD.....Why would you pick a narrator who CANNOT PRONOUNCE "OCHOA" or "NICARAGUA" ! Absolutely maddening.

Was Pablo Escobar worth the listening time?


Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Jude Bailey on 03-25-17

Very enjoyable

A real insite into narcos and politics. Would definitely recommend. The only downside being I had to listen on .75 speed as the narration was 'on speed'!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

By Jws on 09-03-17

Thoroughly enjoyed this book.

Would you consider the audio edition of Pablo Escobar to be better than the print version?

Cannot comment only heard the audio

What was one of the most memorable moments of Pablo Escobar?

I could not pick one moment in the book I found the whole book fascinating, his story is incredibly interesting, seeing the good the bad & the ugly side of this man.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

All of it, the story unfolded in such a way that I couldn't wait to listen to the next chapter and have a better understanding how Pablo Escobar practically ruled a country

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I was surprised that I felt a little sad when Pablo Escobar was finally killed, I don't condone any of the grotesque things that he did, but the book gives a good incite on how corrupt the US was and the Columbian government and how they mirrored a lot of the things that Pablo Escobar did but did not have to answer to anyone!!

Any additional comments?

I would strongly recommend this book, I found it totally fascinating. 10/10

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc