O.J. Simpson: The Real Story

  • by Augustus Stevenson
  • Narrated by C.J. McAllister
  • 0 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

O.J. Simpson: The Real Story
One of the biggest and most polarizing cases in American history.
The O. J. Simpson murder case was a criminal trial held at the Los Angeles County Superior Court in California. The trial spanned from the jury's swearing-in on November 9, 1994, to opening statements on January 24, 1995, to a verdict on October 3, 1995. The former professional football star and actor O. J. Simpson was tried on two counts of murder after the deaths of his ex-wife, Nicole Brown Simpson, and waiter Ronald Lyle Goldman, in June 1994. The case has been described as the most publicized criminal trial in American history. Simpson was acquitted after a trial that lasted more than eight months.
Simpson hired a high-profile defense team, initially led by Robert Shapiro and subsequently led by Johnnie Cochran, and which also included F. Lee Bailey, Alan Dershowitz, Robert Kardashian, Gerald Uelmen, John Yahoe, and Carl E. Douglas, with two more attorneys specializing in DNA evidence: Barry Scheck and Peter Neufeld. Los Angeles County believed it had a strong prosecution case, but Cochran was able to persuade the jurors that there was reasonable doubt about the DNA evidence - including that the blood-sample evidence had allegedly been mishandled by lab scientists and technicians - and about the circumstances surrounding other court exhibits. Cochran and the defense team also alleged other misconduct by the Los Angeles Police Department. Simpson's celebrity and the lengthy televised trial riveted national attention on the so-called "trial of the century". By the end of the criminal trial, national surveys showed dramatic differences in the assessment of Simpson's guilt or innocence between most black and white Americans.
Later, both the Brown and Goldman families sued Simpson for damages in a civil trial that came to a total of $40 million.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-21-2016
  • Publisher: Shane Jones