My (Part-Time) Paris Life

  • by Lisa Anselmo
  • Narrated by Lisa Anselmo
  • 7 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Lisa Anselmo wraps her entire life around her mother, a strong woman who is a defining force in Lisa's life - maybe too defining. When her mother dies from breast cancer, Lisa realizes she hasn't built a life of her own and struggles to find her purpose. Who is she without her mother - and her mother's expectations?
Desperate for answers, she turns to her favorite city - Paris - and impulsively buys a small apartment, refusing to play it safe for the first time. What starts out as an act of survival sets Lisa on a course that reshapes her life in ways she never could have imagined. Suddenly she's living like a local in a city she thought she knew, but her high school French, while fine for buying bread at the corner boulangerie, goes only so far when Paris gives her a strong dose of real life. From dating to homeownership in a foreign country, Lisa quickly learns it's not all picnics on the Seine and starts to doubt herself - and her love of the city. But she came to Paris to be happy, and she can't give up now. Isn't happiness worth fighting for?
In the vein of Eat, Pray, Love and Wild, My (Part-time) Paris Life is a story for anyone who's ever felt lost or hopeless but still dreams of something more. This candid memoir explores one woman's search for peace and meaning and how the ups and downs of expat life in Paris taught her to let go of fear, find self-worth, and create real, lasting happiness in the City of Light.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Way better than I needed it to be. Loved it! Get it.

I love books about Paris and am a sucker for most of them. I've read mostly all of them that you were likely ever to find on bookshelves and on audible over the last 10 years. This book is more than you expect it to be. It will pull at anyone's heart strings. I live in NYC and have been to Paris over 20 times and I think she nails it. You feel her struggle, understand her perspective and feel like you have a seat at the cafe. Get it.
Read full review

- Christopher

Very touching story

The book I listened to was not the book I thought it was going to be.

I knew Lisa was on International House Hunters and that's why I bought this book.
I thought she would talk about how that came about and what it was like to shoot the show..
She did none of those things.
Instead she wrote a honest story of grief, anxiety and how she got through it.

This book touched in a way I never imagined.

I'm a lover of Paris and it warmed my heart to know that it helped her through some of her toughest days.
Read full review

- Anna

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-11-2016
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio