My (Part-Time) Paris Life

  • by Lisa Anselmo
  • Narrated by Lisa Anselmo
  • 7 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Lisa Anselmo wraps her entire life around her mother, a strong woman who is a defining force in Lisa's life - maybe too defining. When her mother dies from breast cancer, Lisa realizes she hasn't built a life of her own and struggles to find her purpose. Who is she without her mother - and her mother's expectations?
Desperate for answers, she turns to her favorite city - Paris - and impulsively buys a small apartment, refusing to play it safe for the first time. What starts out as an act of survival sets Lisa on a course that reshapes her life in ways she never could have imagined. Suddenly she's living like a local in a city she thought she knew, but her high school French, while fine for buying bread at the corner boulangerie, goes only so far when Paris gives her a strong dose of real life. From dating to homeownership in a foreign country, Lisa quickly learns it's not all picnics on the Seine and starts to doubt herself - and her love of the city. But she came to Paris to be happy, and she can't give up now. Isn't happiness worth fighting for?
In the vein of Eat, Pray, Love and Wild, My (Part-time) Paris Life is a story for anyone who's ever felt lost or hopeless but still dreams of something more. This candid memoir explores one woman's search for peace and meaning and how the ups and downs of expat life in Paris taught her to let go of fear, find self-worth, and create real, lasting happiness in the City of Light.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Even if you've never dreamed of living in Paris ..

Even if you have never dreamed of living in Paris set aside the time to travel with "Leeza" ..."On her coming-of-age Journey "...That is to say at the point in our lives when we are now the adults ...candid, poignant, sweet, heartfelt ...
Read full review

- Marushka

Fun read!

I very much enjoyed this memoir. Fantastic performance by the author. I look forward to Part 2
Read full review

- T. Meehan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-11-2016
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio