My Fair Junkie

  • by Amy Dresner
  • Narrated by Amy Dresner
  • 7 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Blackout and Permanent Midnight, a darkly funny and revealing debut memoir of one woman's 20-year battle with sex, drugs, and alcohol addiction, and what happens when she finally emerges on the other side.
Growing up in Beverly Hills, Amy Dresner had it all: a top-notch private school education, the most expensive summer camps, and even a weekly clothing allowance. But at 24, she started dabbling in meth in San Francisco and unleashed a fiendish addiction monster. Soon, if you could snort it, smoke it, or have sex with, she did.
Smart and charming, with Daddy's money to fall back on, she sort of managed to keep it all together. But on Christmas Eve 2011, all of that changed when, high on Oxycontin, she stupidly "brandished" a bread knife on her husband and was promptly arrested for "felony domestic violence with a deadly weapon".
Within months, she found herself in the psych ward - and then penniless, divorced, and looking at 240 hours of court-ordered community service. For two years, assigned to a Hollywood Boulevard "chain gang", she swept up syringes (and worse) as she bounced from rehabs to halfway houses, all while struggling with sobriety, sex addiction, and starting over in her 40s.
In the tradition of Orange Is the New Black and Jerry Stahl's Permanent Midnight, Amy Dresner's My Fair Junkie is an insightful, darkly funny, and shamelessly honest memoir of one woman's battle with all forms of addiction, hitting rock bottom, and forging a path to a life worth living.

More

What the Critics Say

"Like Carrie Fisher's 1987 autobiographical novel, Postcards from the Edge, and Mary Karr's 2009 memoir, Lit, Amy Dresner's story of addiction and recovery, My Fair Junkie: A Memoir of Getting Dirty and Stay Clean (Hachette Books), is one for the ages." (Elle)
"Effortlessly candid and wryly written chronicle of a life hijacked by drugs, booze, and bad behavior. As a noted West Hollywood stand-up comedian and addiction journalist, she handles this complex tale with wit.... A hard-knocks addiction memoir buoyed with humor and insight." (Kirkus)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Break Through Newcomer Denial With This!

This is the kinda stuff that’s necessary to bust through newcomer denial. And I like that she’s appropriately skeptical of Meeting Culture. But this comedienne isn’t funny. And the relentless sexalog/drunkalog/monotonealog is overwhelming (and I’m a slipper). I mean overwhelming in the detail of quotes, specific actions, memories, people, places, and things. No one remembers that clearly through all that fog. Mine the sleaze for all it's worth!, but this redemption song is lame.
Read full review

- Dave

Oy vey

I mean this book jumped around so much that I had no idea sometimes where she was – married, doing community service, with one guy or another on one drug or another… It had absolutely no organized story.

I was captivated I listened until the end which says a lot because sometimes I don’t, but as far as story and overall enjoyment, I was more confused than anything and just stuck it out to see how it ended. Which was a huge disappointment anyway. Not impressed
Read full review

- Becky

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-12-2017
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio