• by Aileen Wuornos, Christopher Berry Dee
  • Narrated by Matthew Lloyd Davies
  • 5 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Told in her own words, this is the story of serial killer Aileen Wuornos, who was portrayed in an Oscar-winning performance by Charlize Theron in the film Monster.
There have been few female serial killers, but Aileen Wuornos, who was executed in 2002, was a remarkable example of this rare breed of death-row inmate. All too often, female prostitutes have been the victims of male serial killers - Wuornos’ killings were the inverse of this pattern. After escaping an abusive childhood at the hands of her grandparents, she became a child prostitute, progressing into a disastrous adulthood of prostitution and damaging affairs with both men and women. Her eventual metamorphosis from victim to attacker had brutal consequences: a stream of dead men. This is her story, as told to Christopher Berry-Dee, editor of The New Criminologist and director of Britain's Criminology Research Centre.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


First person account of why and how the famous "Monster" prostitute went about killing several of her Johns. If ever an insane person was wrongly put to death, it was this one. She is not the run of the mill evil sociopath.
Read full review

- Douglas

Narration ruins the story. Don't bother

If you are interested in the fascinating story of Aileen Wuornos, find another book. There are better ones out there. Monster is supposed to be Aileen Wuornos' account of the murders but it is mostly a reporting of the murders with her words injected in. This is no different from other the other books on the same subject. The problem with this book is that the male british narrator droned on, generating all of the enthusiasm in me that that my college statistics professor did. At the very least, having a woman speak the parts of Aileen would have made the book so much more "readable". I couldn't get through half of it.
Read full review

- Courtney

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-29-2014
  • Publisher: Prospero Media