• Mark Twain: Wild Humorist of the West

  • By: Mark Twain
  • Narrated by: McAvoy Layne
  • Length: 2 hrs and 17 mins
  • Performance
  • Release date: 05-11-10
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
  • 4 out of 5 stars 3.8 (6 ratings)

Regular price: $11.86

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $11.86

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The fascinating life of storyteller and humorist Mark Twain is revealed in this one-man performance based on Twain's writings. The early years of Samuel Clemens, the Mississippi River experiences, and his move to the silver mining area of Nevada are portrayed by exuberant actor McAvoy Layne; some of the most famous tales, from "The Blue Jay Yarn" to "The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County" are woven into the history of this most colorful author. Amusing stories from "Letters from the Sandwich Islands" and questions from the live audience conclude this delightful performance.
©1995 McAvoy Layne; 2010 BBC Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Twain's humor is always droll. (On the topic of polygamy he reminds us that the Bible says 'No man shall serve two masters.') Layne, who compiled this one-man show from Twain's writings, has just the right touch to bring this legendary author alive. And the audience laughter and interaction from this 1995 performance help the audio experience." (AudioFile)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Christina Kane on 08-18-10

Performed like stand up comedy! Excellent!

Excellent performance! The read's voice, comedic timing, and audience laughter makes you feel like you are truly at one of Mark Twain's talks. After listening to more modern comedians, I didn't expect to laugh as hard to an old writer, but I was constantly laughing at his blunt remarks and reminiscences. Twain is truly an icon ahead of his time in matters dealing with sex, race, religion, etc. The audience Q & A at the end was great!
Interestingly, my interest in becoming reacquainted with Twain's work began while I was listening to a murder mystery novel by James Patterson (Alex Cross series). The story dealt with post-civil war lynchings. Two of the characters went to a live performance by Twain and remarked on the deep hilarity of his talks. I can relate to their experience. :)

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Swing Swang on 10-14-13

Like having Samuel Langhorne Clemens at home

Layne's narration is brilliant. Close your eyes and you could be in a clapboard homestead on the banks of the Mississippi having Sam Cemens entertaining your dinner guests. The droll vignettes of Twain's life left me with a 'wry smile' that lasted all day.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc