Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir

  • by Poe Ballantine
  • Narrated by Poe Ballantine
  • 7 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.
For well over twenty years, Poe Ballantine traveled America, taking odd jobs, living in small rooms, and wondering the big whys. At age 46, he finally settled with his Mexican immigrant wife in Chadron, Nebraska, where they had a son who was red-flagged as autistic. Poe published four books about his experiences as a wanderer and his observations of America. But one day in 2006, his neighbor, Steven Haataja, a math professor from the local state college disappeared. Ninety five days later, the professor was found bound to a tree, burned to death in the hills behind the campus where he had taught. No one, law enforcement included, understood the circumstances. Poe had never contemplated writing mystery or true crime, but since he knew all the players, the suspects, the sheriff, the police involved, he and his kindergarten son set out to find out what might have happened.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great title; insighful memoir

Who was your favorite character and why?

Poe Ballantine, of course. He tackles the difficult and the personal (marriage, parenthood, career and a local murder) with compelling openness, honesty and insight.


What about Poe Ballantine’s performance did you like?

As a reader of his own writing, Ballantine knows how his book is supposed to be read. Compelling and enjoyable.


Read full review

- Barbara "Since taking my first creative writing class in 2008 the pleasure I used to get from reading has been greatly reduced. I notice things I never noticed before. That said, I think I rate books pretty generously. Anyone who actually manages to write a whole book and then get it published deserves an extra star."

Great book

Author reads a bit quick but he does a great job.
He describes Chadron NE very well too. I spent a week there and it is exactly as he describes. I would like to move my kids there. The book is more of a memoir of his time in Chadron but the sub story of the math professors death is intriguing as well.
I do recommend this book.
Read full review

- cceaser

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-31-2014
  • Publisher: Hawthorne Books and Literary Arts