• Life-Ology 101

  • If All Else Fails, Smile
  • By: Michael Soward
  • Narrated by: Dave Wright
  • Length: 2 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 01-13-14
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Michael Soward
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.0 (2 ratings)

Regular price: $6.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $6.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Life is what it is, and sometimes the pain, the unusual twists and turns of it are unavoidable, though through its entirety one must always smile, for this is a great start of the healing process. Author Michael Soward has lived by these words, and in his new book, “Life-ology 101,” he shares his life journey with readers everywhere, giving them a brief written snapshot of his life from childhood to his arrival in New York City, and all the adversities he met and overcame along the way.
This audiobook is an autobiographical chronicle of the life and times of Michael Soward, following his journey from his days as a teenager who came from a strict African-American household to a liberated young adult exploring a nation that was also experiencing sweeping changes. Readers will witness the metamorphosis of a man coinciding with the transformation of an entire society, a domino effect wherein both will never be the same again. Soward's compelling narrative contains invaluable life lessons on freedom, on a personal and societal level, and on the great responsibilities that come with it.
©2013 Michael Soward (P)2014 Michael Soward
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Susan Keefe on 08-17-14

A thought provoking autobiography.

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, it is a very interesting autobiography, by Michael Soward, who was bought up in Arkansas with his younger brother and lived with their strict grandmother after being abandoned by their father. The family attend church regularly, and Michael discovered at a young age, he had a gift for playing the organ and it is the beginning of a lifelong love of music. In 1969, aged 18 he escaped to the big city and his life changes forever...

Which scene was your favorite?

The whole story is very interesting and I couldn't pinpoint a favourite bit. I have to say however that throughout, this book runs a vein of the author’s deep religious belief and his faith in God. It is the importance of his church and love of music, which has sustained him through times of deep despair.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

From Rags to Jazz!

Any additional comments?

The story, which follows, is of one man’s journey, his marriage, fatherhood, hopes, dreams and foibles’. It is frank and honest, brutally so sometimes. He openly talks about his relationship with his father, the driving forces in his life and the leaps of faith, which have made him into the man he is today.I have always loved listening to memoirs, catching a glimpse into peoples’ lives and discovering the experiences, which have made them the person they are today. This is a very honestly written book, interesting and thought provoking, the journey of a young boy from the Deep South who ends up a father and grandfather living in New York, and all the bits in-between.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc