Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

  • by Jenny Lawson
  • Narrated by Jenny Lawson
  • 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013
For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.
Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Actually, not for fans of Sedaris and Fey

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

I *really* wanted to like this book. Maybe diehard devotees of Jenny Lawson's blog might like it more than I. I thought some of her essays were great, but couldn't stand an entire book of her. It was just... too forced.

Has Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) turned you off from other books in this genre?


Would you be willing to try another one of Jenny Lawson’s performances?

Probably not.

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

I would have trimmed a lot from the book as a whole. Jenny is witty and touching, but her sarcasm and schtick wore thin on me after the first half of the book. Her journey of self-awareness feels contrived and forced--- as if her editor told her that she had to summarize what she learned and how she grew from each anecdote. Her essay about miscarriage and living with chronic illness was really powerful and moving. Her father is fascinating, as is her upbringing. I would have liked to hear more about her parents.

And whoever told her to SING the chapter titles should be fired. That was just cringe-inducing.

Read full review

- BostonMom

Like Mother Teresa, but better!

If you could sum up Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) in three words, what would they be?

Unicorn Success Club

What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

I can recite the whole thing from memory.

Which character – as performed by Jenny Lawson – was your favorite?

I'm gonna have to go with her performance of Jenny Lawson, aka "the Bloggess." She nailed it.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I'm actually legally dead, having died of laughter. In lieu of flowers, buy this book.

Any additional comments?

This book is funnier than the Bible.

Read full review

- Q. "Q"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-17-2012
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio