Lassoing the Sun

  • by Mark Woods
  • Narrated by Corey M. Snow
  • 9 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Many childhood summers, Mark Woods piled into a station wagon with his parents and two sisters and headed to America's national parks. Mark's most vivid childhood memories are set against a backdrop of mountains, woods, and fireflies in places like Redwood, Yosemite, and Grand Canyon national parks.
On the eve of turning 50 and a little burned out, Mark decided to reconnect with the great outdoors. He'd spend a year visiting the national parks. He planned to take his mother to a park she'd not yet visited and to re-create his childhood trips with his wife and their iPad-generation daughter.
But then the unthinkable happened: His mother was diagnosed with cancer, given just months to live. Mark had initially intended to write a book about the future of the national parks, but Lassoing the Sun grew into something more: a book about family, the parks, the legacies we inherit, and the ones we leave behind.


What the Critics Say

"Woods makes a clear case for the significant power of the parks on our collective and personal psyches. A deeply heartfelt story about why the national parks remain so integral to the American story." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This book truly will touch the hearts of nature lovers and many other lovers of galore. This book truly captures a sense of family and a love for the outdoors and just exactly how it is continuously healing us.
Read full review

- Mallory Dixon

did not want it to end.

Very well done. nice visual work. good stories. touching family generational sharing. tears and smiles. a good listen.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-09-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio