In Vino Duplicitas

  • by Peter Hellman
  • Narrated by Charles Constant
  • 8 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Few gain entry to the privileged world of ultrafine wines, where billionaires flock to exclusive auction houses to vie for the scarce surviving bottles from truly legendary years. But Rudy Kurniawan, an unknown 20-something from Indonesia, was blessed with two gifts that opened doors: a virtuoso palate for wine tasting and access to a seemingly limitless (if mysterious) supply of the world's most coveted wines.
After bursting onto the scene in 2002, Kurniawan quickly became the leading purveyor of rare wines to the American elite. But in April 2008, his lots of Domaine Ponsot Clos Saint-Denis red burgundy - dating as far back as 1945 - were abruptly pulled from auction. The problem? The winemaker was certain that this particular burgundy was first produced only in 1982.
Journalist Peter Hellman was there, and he would closely investigate as a singular cast of characters - including a Kansas-born billionaire, a wine-loving young prosecutor, and a crusty FBI agent - worked to unravel the biggest con in wine history. Whether driven by the love of wine or of justice, all were asking the same question: Was the mild-mannered Kurniawan himself a dupe? Or had one young man - with little experience and few connections - ensnared the world's top winemakers, sellers, and drinkers in a web of deceit?


What the Critics Say

"Heady, intoxicating...shines a light on the esoteric and intriguing world of ultrarare, ultrafine wines." (Foreword)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

details of international intrigue

I think more information about the international money-laundering efforts by the family would have been a little bit more interesting.
Read full review

- Kindle Customer

Great Read Especially for Wine Lovers

Very intriguing story! Enjoyed the comparison to Jay Gatsby and insight into the world of rare wine trading.
Read full review

- Kathryn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-15-2017
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio