• by Emily Brady
  • Narrated by Dan Woren, Sonny Warner, Erin Bennett, Will Collyer
  • 7 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and Deborah Feldman's Unorthodox, journalist Emily Brady journeys into a secretive subculture - one that marijuana built.
Humboldt: Life on America's Marijuana Frontier
Say the words "Humboldt County" to a stranger and you might receive a knowing grin. The name is infamous, and yet the place, and its inhabitants, have been nearly impenetrable. Until now. Humboldt is a narrative exploration of an insular community in Northern California, which for nearly 40 years has existed primarily on the cultivation and sale of marijuana. It's a place where business is done with thick wads of cash and savings are buried in the backyard. In Humboldt County, marijuana supports everything from fire departments to schools, but it comes with a heavy price. As legalization looms, the community stands at a crossroads and its inhabitants are deeply divided on the issue - some want to claim their rightful heritage as master growers and have their livelihood legitimized, others want to continue reaping the inflated profits of the black market.
Emily Brady spent a year living with the highly secretive residents of Humboldt County, and her cast of eccentric, intimately drawn characters take us into a fascinating, alternate universe. It's the story of a small town that became dependent on a forbidden plant, and of how everything is changing as marijuana goes mainstream.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great book!

I'm going to read this again! Well listen to it again. I recommend this book to anyone interested in the culture behind the illicit marijuana growing industry in NORCAL.
Read full review

- David

Accessible, captivating work of nonfiction

Had the readily absorbed, page turning narrative of fiction while telling 4+ true stories from southern Humboldt County. I highly recommend.
Read full review

- morgan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-18-2013
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio