Fishing on the Edge

  • by Mike Iaconelli, Andrew, Brian Kamenetzky
  • Narrated by Mike Iaconelli
  • 4 hrs and 28 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

With his colorful tattoos and booming hip-hop sound track, Mike Iaconelli has turned the world of big-money competitive bass fishing upside down. In Fishing on the Edge, Iaconelli tells his own story, and it's a whopper: a Philly-born, Jersey-bred Yankee who's been stealing the spotlight from bass fishing's traditionally all-Southern anglers, attracting fans and dominating one of the fastest-growing sports in America. Forty-four million Americans fish, but no one does it quite like Mike Iaconelli. In Fishing on the Edge, he lets you in on the secrets to his extraordinary success; how he developed his "power" fishing style, how he attacks the water, positions the boat, and perseveres through those days when the bass just aren't biting. With tips that can be used by any fisherman, from using spinner baits to picking out the right rod to his no-fail "secret weapons", this is an intensive, informative, and often raucous journey through the life of a brash young man destined to do for fishing what Tony Hawk did for the X Games: take the sport to a whole new level. At the same time, it's the compelling first-person story of a man who prepared carefully every step of the way, kept notes on every fish he ever caught, and executed the perfect plan to get to the top.
A tale of passion, competition, and extreme personality, Fishing on the Edge is a book for anyone who loves the sport of fishing, wants to turn a hobby into a career, or is simply fascinated by a man's unstoppable drive to succeed.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

what you would expect

This wasn't a bad book. Yet it was what you'd expect. The story of Iconelli's life is interesting but not unique enough to be considered compelling. The other problem with the book is that it seems like it was written for a high school english composition class. Ike is really fond of trying to sound hip in his writing, so if you don't want to hear the phrase "I was totally stoked.." a thousand times you had better rethink this purchase. I bought the book hoping for fishing tips. They are there, but they are the same tips found on his web page and don't amount to much taken as a whole.

With that said, I don't feel like the book is unworthy of a listen. If you like fishing this listen will be moderately worth your time. But don't expect more than Ike can deliver!
Read full review

- Nate

Great Book. Worth a listen.

A good book for fans of BASS or FLW. Ike's personality shines through and makes for a quick listen. Good stories and some tips. Very entertaining.
Read full review

- Keith

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-20-2005
  • Publisher: Random House Audio