Every Falling Star

  • by Sungju Lee, Susan McClelland
  • Narrated by David Shih
  • 9 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Every Falling Star, the first book to portray contemporary North Korea to a young audience, is the intense memoir of a North Korean boy named Sungju, who is forced at age 12 to live on the streets and fend for himself. To survive, Sungju creates a gang and lives by thieving, fighting, begging, and stealing rides on cargo trains. Sungju richly recreates his scabrous story, depicting what it was like for a boy alone to create a new family with his gang, his "brothers"; to be hungry and to fear arrest, imprisonment, and even execution. This riveting memoir allows young listeners to learn about other cultures where freedoms they take for granted do not exist.


What the Critics Say

"A pampered son of the elite survives a nightmarish ordeal in this page-turner of a memoir." (Kirkus)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Riveting, sad, and inspirational

I am an older reader. The narrator's cadence lends itself to a young readership. As I listened, I couldn't help but picture a teacher reading this book aloud with students at his or her feet, mouths gaping as they hung on every word. I believe that was the intention. The author painted vivid images of this young mans struggle to survive in deplorable and heartbreaking conditions. Excellently done. Highly recommended.
Read full review

- Janis Creason

Eye opening

A story from the heart of true life in North Korea. A must read for anyone
Read full review

- hance

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-13-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio