• Endgame

  • Bobby Fischer’s Remarkable Rise and Fall—from America’s Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness
  • By: Frank Brady
  • Narrated by: Ray Porter
  • Length: 13 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 02-01-11
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.2 (605 ratings)
  • Whispersync for Voice-ready

Regular price: $23.07

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $23.07

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From Frank Brady, who wrote one of the best-selling books on Bobby Fischer of all time and who was himself a friend of Fischer’s, comes an impressively researched biography that for the first time completely captures the remarkable arc of Bobby Fischer’s life. When Bobby Fischer passed away in January 2008, he left behind a confounding legacy. Everyone knew the basics of his life—he began as a brilliant youngster, then became the pride of American chess, then took a sharp turn, struggling with paranoia and mental illness. But nobody truly understood him.
What motivated Fischer from such a young age, and what was the source of his remarkable intellect? How could a man so ambivalent about money and fame be so driven to succeed? What drew this man of Jewish descent to fulminate against Jews, and how was it that a mind so famously disciplined could unravel so completely? From Fischer’s meteoric rise, to an utterly dominant prime unequaled by any American chess player, to his eventual descent into madness, the book draws upon hundreds of newly discovered documents and recordings and numerous firsthand interviews conducted with those who knew Fischer best. It paints, for the very first time, a complete picture of one of America’s most enigmatic icons. This is the definitive account of a fascinating man and an extraordinary life, one that at last reconciles Fischer’s deeply contradictory legacy and answers the question, who was Bobby Fischer?
©2011 Frank Brady (P)2011 Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

“The Mozart of the chessboard is inseparable from the monster of paranoid egotism in this fascinating biography. Brady, founding publisher of Chess Life magazine and a friend of Fischer, gives a richly detailed account of the impoverished Brooklyn wunderkind’s sensational opening…Brady gives us a vivid, tragic narrative of a life that became a chess game.” ( Publishers Weekly)
“I learned something new on nearly every page of this wonderful book. Frank Brady is the perfect biographer for Bobby Fischer, and Endgame tells the full and fair story of Fischer’s astonishing rise and heartbreaking fall." (Christopher Chabris, author of The Invisible Gorilla )
“Fischer is America’s greatest antihero. This fascinating biography is filled with hope, Cold War intrigue, the fulfillment of genius, and an explosive fall from grace that is both deeply moving and, ultimately, profoundly sad.” (Jeremy Silman, author of The Amateur’s Mind)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Pamela Harvey on 02-06-11

Overly Factual

I thought this book was compelling because of its subject, and it's well written, with logical, linear threads.

But I wanted to read more about Fischer's breakdown, and what led him to withdraw from conventional life. I wanted to see Fisher from the inside. I don't know if that's even possible, or if he ever sought counseling or even knew or cared that his life was in a "move" more baffling than his most challenging chess match.

I'd love to see another writer, or even this one, continue to plunder the depths where "Endgame" leaves off.

Read More Hide me

21 of 21 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By ROBERT on 02-24-11

The terrible conflict between genius and reality

I was blissfully unaware of the life of Bobby Fischer. From my childhood, I was aware that he was one of the finest chess players in history and the greatest American chess master. I was drawn to this book because Fischer seemed like an interesting character. What I found as the narration unfolded was that Fischer was a man who was torn by his incredible genius and insight. His ability to make meaning on the chessboard was matched only by his ability to use that same insight and genius to craft thoughts and thought-schemas that bordered on the maniacal. Mr. Brady tells Fischer's story in a way that lays all of this out. Mr. Brady is not an apologist for Bobby, nor is he an attacker. He is a faithful biographer. As I arrive at the end of this production, I feel that I have come to know this wonderful and terrible man and Mr. Brady has accomplished this without burying me in chess jargon or algebraic notation.

Ray Porter's narration was first-rate. His speech is easy to follow and lacks idiosyncracy. The best word that I can think of to describe Mr. Porter's style is transparent.

In final reflection on the life of Bobby Fischer, I am reminded of a slim volume written by Owen Lee on Richard Wagner entitled, "Wagner: The Terrible Man and His Truthful Art." Sadly, this same title could apply to the tortured genius that was Robert James Fischer.

I strongly recommend this audiobook to anyone who is seeking to understand this enigmatic man.

Read More Hide me

14 of 14 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By dawid kubica on 07-06-18


Fantastic story about the best chess player ever, any chess fan will enjoy it. *

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Jack Henry Gleeson on 10-29-17

very interesting

it was very interesting to learn more about the greatest chess player of all time.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews