• by Darren Henley
  • Narrated by Marin Alsop
  • 0 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a story from the Famous Composers collection.
Following on the success of The Story of Classical Music, Darren Henley and Marin Alsop combine forces again to tell, in more detail, the lives of six key composers: Bach, Vivaldi, Mozart, Beethoven, Dvorak, and Shostakovich. Their colourful lives and their love of music are told against the backdrop of some of their finest works, an ideal combination.


Audible Editor Reviews

As part of the More Famous Composers collection, Darren Henley explores the life of famous 19th century Czech composer Antonin Dvorak. A real Bohemian, Dvorak incorporated peasant folk music into his compositions. His work shaped the development of Czech national music. Marin Aslop's voice is crystal clear and provides for smooth listening while her tone feels quite conversational. Clips of stunning music liven up the short audio-biography. History and music lovers alike will enjoy the illustrative melodies and interesting life of Dvorak.


What the Critics Say

2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work
2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-04-2013
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks